DEAR SOLO TRAVELER, HERE ARE 8 TIPS TO STAYING SAFE ON THE ROAD

Life is either a daring adventure or nothing!- Helen Keller

cropped-20161229_172420.jpg

Ok so for those of you who have the desire to travel solo yet so scared of taking that step -basically because we humans are scared of the unknown-, my first advice is to let go of the fear and stay positive

What if I get robbed?

What if I get kidnapped?

What if there is a terrorist?

What if I get lost?

So I have one question for you for each question you ask

What if you enjoy your trip?

What if you meet new people with different perspectives?

What if you discover new horizons?

What if you discover yourself in the process?

You see, life in itself is a risk. There can be a terrorist attack right where you are now. You could be kidnapped so why not step out and enjoy life before it becomes too late.

YOUR EXCUSES ARE NOT VALID!

If all I have said has encouraged you to go out there, then let’s take a few tips on how to stay safe when you are out there on your own. Wisdom, the bible says is a man’s ransom, so get some for the road

 

  1. WISE UP AND TRUST YOUR INSTINCTS

Meet new people but be wise! When you see a person, you have to study them to be sure. You will have to depend a lot on your instincts. You see not everyone you meet is a good soul. Allow me to share one of my experiences with you; This happened at the Ataturk Airport in Istanbul, on my way back to London. I got to the airport and met two guys who wanted me to help them pass a bag across to someone standing behind the security check. I had learnt my lesson NEVER to help anyone with a bag at the airport! No matter how innocent they look. What I did was to pretend I couldn’t hear them. They later sent a note to me through another guy to tell me to help them with the bag. (I bet you are wondering why they didn’t just give the bag to that guy right? I wondered same! My guess? Because I was black and could be more sympathetic to another! But I really don’t buy into that so I still wouldn’t! To cut a long story short, the next I knew, airport security came from nowhere to whisk these guys away! Yh! Please don’t accept bags at the airport! Be friendly but not overly friendly

2. SEPARATE YOUR CASH AND VALUABLES!

Holding on to money, learn to separate all your money and other valuables into different pockets, bags. Don’t keep it all in one pocket when you are walking the streets and taking all your selfies! I’m not saying you will be robbed but it wouldn’t cost anything to prepare for it! Ha!

3. DON’T BE TOO FLASHY!

Ok so you have all those nice and expensive jewelry keep it locked up! You are exploring not on a fashion fair! Keep it simple and don’t draw attention to yourself.

 

4. ACT LIKE THE LOCALS AND BE NICE

Nothing beats acting like locals in any country! You see being yourself around these people and showing love to them will spark a light in them to return the favour! If you believe in Karma then believe that when you do good too you set it back. The locals can teach you a lot especially the elderly ones who are so eager to impact knowledge around. Try it and you will be amazed at the depth of knowledge they will give you. My favourite Chinese joint in Copenhagen was recommended by an elderly man I met in a tattoo palour! How about that!:)

20151118_114918

 

5. BE INDEPENDENT AND CONFIDENT ON THE STREETS

Confidence is everything! You have to be confident in yourself. The only way to send across a message that says that I am not new around here is if you stroll around town confidently and not act lost! If you lack confidence on the streets anyone can see from miles ahead so be confident

 

6. RESEARCH

To stroll confidently, you may have to research places ahead of time and know where you are going.  Researching ahead of stepping out

 

7. WATCH YOUR BACK AND DON’T ACT WEIRD

No matter how confident you are and how much fun you have you got to watch your back. Watching your back is essential for your survival on the road. As much as you want to watch your back and keep track of anything strange make sure you don’t do it while acting strange. It doesn’t help as it defeats the whole purpose by drawing attention to yourself!

8. STAY POSITIVE AND LOVE EVERYONE!

My dear solo traveler, as much as you would want to stay safe on the road nothing beats staying positive and showing love. You get what you give! So give love, stay true to yourself and be bold! …

 

 

Safe trip!

2 thoughts on “DEAR SOLO TRAVELER, HERE ARE 8 TIPS TO STAYING SAFE ON THE ROAD

  1. I love the article! You are so so right! Great there are people like you who can share so much happiness and confidence and motivate others to find theirselves 🙂 😘

Leave a Reply

